Low-Gluten Hosts and Mustum at Mass

Posted on May 24, 2016

Beginning May 28-29, 2016

        ALL ARE WELCOME!

If you have Celiac disease, or other allergies to wheat, you may now receive the Body of Christ (low-gluten Host, containing 0.01% gluten) in the regular communion line, from the communion minister with the silver ciborium in front of the altar.

If you cannot consume alcohol for medical reasons, you may now receive the Precious Blood of Christ (non-alcoholic sacramental grape juice, or MUSTUM) in the regular communion line, from the communion minister with the small silver communion cup.

Such medical reasons include:

  • Those with the disease of alcoholism
  • Those who are on medication which disallows alcohol consumption
  • Those who have the inherited disease of alcoholism in their family, and do not wish to expose themselves or their children to alcohol

Low gluten hosts contain no more than 0.01% gluten.  Mustum does contain trace amounts of alcohol (0.01% to 0.049%).  These elements are required by church law for sacramental validity.

For more information visit our Low-gluten hosts / Mustum page

 

Comments are closed.